Election voting 20180128

The list of candidates for four municipal elections slated for late spring have been finalized with one new addition to the Harpers Ferry ballot. Candidates had a deadline of Jan. 29 or, if mailing in ballots, on or before midnight Jan. 30. Delays in mail held up receipt of filings.

In Harpers Ferry, the new candidate for council is David Simmons, chairman of the town board of zoning appeals. Town recorder, mayor and all five council members are up for election with only two incumbents throwing their hats in the ring. Current recorder Kevin Carden, who has been recorder for 12 years, will run again as will incumbent council member Christian Pechuekonis.

Other candidates include Greg Vaughn, running for mayor, and council candidates Chris Craig; Jim Jenkins; Laurel Drake; Zachary Morse; and Greg “Storm” DiCostanzo.

All seats on the local government for Bolivar are also up for election with all but one council member running again. Each office has two-year terms.

The candidates are unopposed. Current mayor Helen Dettmer is seeking a fourth term.

Recorder Jean Reed will also run. Reed has been town recorder since 2003. Other candidates are council incumbents Sarah Gordon, Amanda McDaniel, Sandi Marra, and Steve Paradis.

John Paul Heafer, who lost his council seat in 2019, is also on the ballot. Incumbent Jerry Powell decided not to run.

Charles Town Mayor Bob Trainor faces a challenge from Todd Coyle, the current council member from Ward 3. Trainor was appointed in Aug. 2019 to fill the balance of former mayor Scott Rogers’ term after Rogers resigned.

 Julie Philabaum is the only candidate running for Coyle’s Ward 3 seat.

In Ward 4, candidates had the option of running for a two-year or four-year term. Trainor was elected to council in 2019 to serve until 2023. Rikki Twyford was appointed to serve part of Trainor’s term until this year’s election, according to state law. She could run for a two-year term to finish the term vacated by Trainor or a four-year term. She chose the four-year term. Incumbent Michael George has opted to run for the two-year term. Steve Rogers is also running for the four-year seat.

Other races include incumbent Chet Hines who will face Elizabeth Ricketts for Ward 1; and incumbent Kevin Tester will run against Jeff Hynes for Ward 2.

In Ranson, incumbent Mayor Keith ‘Duke’ Pierson will face two challengers, residents Tyler Eugene Payton and Bernard Brian Parrish Sr.

A second council spot will have incumbent Mike Anderson running for re-election without a challenger on the ballot.

Write-in candidate registrations are still possible until April 13.

In the contested council race for an at-large seat, incumbent Amanda Stroud, who was appointed to fill an unexpired term, vacant council spot, will face challenger Mike Baker, a resident of the Shenandoah Springs development.

Stroud, a 21-year city resident who lives on Samuel Street, was appointed to her council spot last February after Tony Grant gave up the position to become city manager.

Baker, 34, who works as a program manager for a military contractor in Washington, D.C., became a resident of Ranson almost a year ago.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.